M-Audio fast track usb 2 (MK2) review


M-Audio fast track MK2

Where to begin…… the M-Audio fast track MK2 in a nut shell is quite simply AMAZING. The sound quality (24bit/48khz) is absolutely outstanding, and the device performance is stunning, Need I say more.

To install the device driver is so simple the M-Audio fast track MK2 is borderline plug and play, instead of using the supplied drive I went directly to the M-Audio website and downloaded the more up to date driver to ensure the device will run at its optimum performance.

When producing beats in FL Studio 9, I can stream at 48khz 512 point sinc interpolation with no clipping or stuttering in the audio whatsoever, but of course a decent spec PC helps as well.

View questions about the M-Audio Fast track here

M-Audio Fasttrack MK2 Specifications

2-input, 2-output audio interface
compatible with most popular recording software including Pro Tools M-Powered 8* and GarageBand
24-bit/48kHz professional sound quality
plug-and-play USB connection (USB 2.0 compatible)
XLR microphone input with gain control and 48V phantom power
1/4″ instrument input with gain control
1/4″ stereo headphone output
RCA stereo speaker outputs
output level knob for adjusting volume of headphones and speaker outputs
direct monitoring button
powered by USB—no power adapter required

This entry was posted in Hardware reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to M-Audio fast track usb 2 (MK2) review

  1. Diego Sato says:

    Hello, I’m willing to buy this but I have a question.
    I use my pc for applying effects on real time while playing guitars (Im using Reaper for those), but my soundcard is onboard and I get a latency delay on the effects (about 0.5 sec), I was wondering if I get this Fast Track MK2 the latency problem will be solved.
    Thanks in advance, Cheers from Brazil!

    • robinlove85 says:

      Well hello

      In my experience there will be little to no latency issues when using direct monitoring, further more it helps if you have a decent PC with a good processor and a fair amount of ram.
      I have used the Fasttrack MK2 for live music using the M-Audio Oxygen 25 midi keyboard and have experienced no latency, I hope this helps.

      😀 Robin

    • mike basnec says:

      yes it will be solved!!!!!!!!!

  2. lochana says:

    Hi, have you noticed that the headphone output is very quiet? Even on full output gain?
    When I have my mic input at 3/4 and output at full, my headphone output is still a bit quieter compared to the first Fast track USB

  3. callan says:

    Hello im looking at buying this , im using a Numark Mixtrack and because it doesnt have a built in soundcard will this do the job, will it allow me to cue the next song without interupting the output sound?

  4. carlo salcedo says:

    i got an acer aspire 4736z with 2 gigs ram, can i use FT mark II for recording with this? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

